Project Haiti
Even though I spent most of my life growing up in Houston, TX, I was born in New York and will always be a Yankee at heart. I have an amazing family, with an older brother (Andrew), younger brother (Matt), little sister (Raina), our wonderful father, and the always present spirit and love of my late mother amongst us. Somehow, all my siblings and I ended up studying completely different fields, them going into Finance, Law, and Studio Art, respectively. I graduated from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill (also known as the University of National Champions) in May 2008 with Bachelor's Degrees in Chemistry and International Studies with a concentration in Global Health and Development. I LOVE Tarheel basketball. I have no idea what medical specialty I will be going into in my future, but I do know it will be oriented towards international health care. I'm the Vice President of the Student Government Association, and chair of the 2012 Community Service Committee. When all is said and done, a simple soccer ball and the Great Outdoors are all I need to feel at peace and reset myself in tough or stressful times. I'm extremely excited for the future of Project Haiti, and thank you for your support!
The oldest of three, I was raised by the most incredibly supportive parents in a home filled with music and love. People describe me as a very happy person, and I always try to see the best of every situation. I graduated last May from UT Austin with a B.S. in Biochemistry and an interdisciplinary global health concentration. Traveling and volunteering, two of my greatest passions, have led me all over the world from cycling across the US to Alaska to studying Universal healthcare in Denmark to working with nutritional community initiatives in Malawi. Through these endeavors I found that I loved working in the cross section of medicine and public health. The gratitude that someone shows when their lives have been positively changed or when their quality of life has risen to new heights is such a raw emotion! In my free time I love to listen to live music, play cello and piano, meet new people, attempt to cook, try new things, and spend time with friends and family.
Hey y'all! I moved around a lot when I was little due to my dad's job in the Air Force. I thought when he retired that we'd stop moving, which was partially true. There was another place in Arkansas and then Thailand before my parents decided to settle in Texas. They actually stopped moving, but I apparently felt possessed to keep going. Denton, TX; St. Louis; Amboise, France; Nice, France; London; McAllen, TX; and now San Antonio. I just couldn't resist the charm of the Lone Star State, the stars at night, the sage in bloom...;) There's that old saying: I wasn't born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could! Amen.

I graduated from Washington University in St. Louis a few years ago with a degree in biology and a minor in French. Who ever thought that a French minor would come in handy? But I finally get to use it (somewhat) with this wonderful project! I'm excited to put my plentiful and awesome (can you see me doing an over-enthusiastic karate chop?) first-year knowledge and skills to use, to better understand the juncture of medicine, public health, and education as well as to acquaint myself with a new culture and language.
Hi!  My name is Valerie Libby and I am a first year medical student.  I am originally from Atlanta, Georgia.  I have three wonderful brothers.  I went to the University of Texas at Austin and majored in Psychology and Spanish.  I then received a Masters in Global Public Health from George Washington University Health Science Center.  I love traveling and have lived in Argentina, Costa Rica, Spain, and, most recently, Kenya.  In Kenya, I evaluated the impact of community-based health education on the community.  I really love helping people and I am really excited to be a part of this incredible team!  Thank you so much for your interest and support!