Project Haiti
 
Hi everyone!
My name is Liz and I am a first year medical student. I was born and raised in Dallas, TX where my wonderful parents still live. My older sister is a 4th year medical student at UTHSCSA so I am lucky to still see a lot of family even in San Antonio. I have recently adopted an adorable pet dachshund, Kofi (named after the former UN Secretary General Kofi Annan), which rounds out my family :)

I graduated from Dartmouth College this past June of 2009 with a Psychology major and Biology minor. While at Dartmouth I was able to travel to Thailand and work with an HIV/AIDS group and children's orphanage. I have been blessed with so many opportunities, and this trip to Haiti is definitely one of them. I am so thankful for all the support, love, and warm thoughts while we are preparing for our quickly approaching trip to Haiti!
 
 
Hello, I am Jocelyn.  I was born and raised in Nuevo Laredo, Mexico.  I moved to San Antonio, TX when I was 13.  I completely fell in love with this city and its people and I have been here since then.  I have been blessed with a wonderful family.  I have two awesome parents and two sisters.  My older sister will be graduating from medical school this coming May and my younger sister is currently a junior in high school.  I graduated from the University of Texas at San Antonio with degrees in Biology and French.  I decided to study abroad in Paris, France last semester.  I studied French at the Universite Paris IV--Sorbonne.  I had the opportunity to travel a lot while taking a break from science.  I love traveling but most importantly I love meeting people from other places and countries.  I also love learning languages because I think that learning a language is the best way to truly learn and understand other peoples' cultures and become more open-minded.  I hope to live in the United States after graduating from medical school but I would also like to do international medical mission trips.  Being from a country where great need can be observed has inspired to want to travel and use my knowledge of medicine to help people living in disadvantaged conditions.  If I talk about myself I have to mention how important my Lord Jesus Christ is in my life.  He gives me the strength to keep going and  give Him glory and praise for blessing me so much.
 
 
Howdy!  My name is Tyler and I was born and raised in Plano, Texas.   I come from a loving family of four (Mike and Janie – the rents) and one sister (Taylor) who is a senior at Texas A&M.  I too attended Texas A&M where I received a BS in Biomedical Science.  After graduation I completed a MS in Clinical Research Management at UNTHSC at Fort Worth and went to work at UT Southwestern’s Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center for a year as a research coordinator before medical school.  I am married to my wonderful wife Lindsay, who graduated from UT Austin.  Other than when we watch football on Thanksgiving, she is extremely supportive and keeps our yellow lab, Jake, busy when I’m at the library.  I love to fish, old westerns, the Dallas Cowboys, Americana music, and being outdoors. Thanks for everyone’s support and God Bless.
 
 
I was raised in eastern Tennessee in a loving family of six: mom, dad, my three sisters and myself.  Although I miss my folks back home, I am happy to be in Texas- San Antonio is a beautiful city and only a stone's throw from Austin. I enjoy traveling and for down time, I'm normally cooking something, doing something outside, or playing around with music.  I like to play sports, and as evidenced by the random UNC regalia found throughout my house I am an avid Tar Heels fan.  UNC is my alma mater!  I lived in Nashville, TN for two years working as a lab tech and producing some of my own music on the side.  On my ceiling is the word "gullible".  I'll let you think about that one.  If you are looking for a powerful read, I highly recommend the book Kite Runner. I couldn't put it down. I am very excited to connect with the people of Haiti. Thank you for your support!
 
 
Hello! My name is Crystal Truong, and I'm from Arlington, TX. I graduated from the University of Notre Dame ('08) with an Anthropology/Pre-Med degree. Before starting medical school, I did a year of service with Bon Secours Hospital in southwest Baltimore, doing community health education outreach. It was definitely a life-changing experience learning the true meaning of compassion.

I want to recommend reading Tracy Kidder's Mountains Beyond Mountains for anyone interested in learning more about Haiti. It's an inspiring read on the work of Dr. Paul Farmer, a physician and anthropologist providing healthcare to those in need. I had the chance to hear him speak, and it sparked my passion for service and justice, especially in healthcare. 
 
 
Even though I spent most of my life growing up in Houston, TX, I was born in New York and will always be a Yankee at heart. I have an amazing family, with an older brother (Andrew), younger brother (Matt), little sister (Raina), our wonderful father, and the always present spirit and love of my late mother amongst us. Somehow, all my siblings and I ended up studying completely different fields, them going into Finance, Law, and Studio Art, respectively. I graduated from the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill (also known as the University of National Champions) in May 2008 with Bachelor's Degrees in Chemistry and International Studies with a concentration in Global Health and Development. I LOVE Tarheel basketball. I have no idea what medical specialty I will be going into in my future, but I do know it will be oriented towards international health care. I'm the Vice President of the Student Government Association, and chair of the 2012 Community Service Committee. When all is said and done, a simple soccer ball and the Great Outdoors are all I need to feel at peace and reset myself in tough or stressful times. I'm extremely excited for the future of Project Haiti, and thank you for your support!
 
 
The oldest of three, I was raised by the most incredibly supportive parents in a home filled with music and love. People describe me as a very happy person, and I always try to see the best of every situation. I graduated last May from UT Austin with a B.S. in Biochemistry and an interdisciplinary global health concentration. Traveling and volunteering, two of my greatest passions, have led me all over the world from cycling across the US to Alaska to studying Universal healthcare in Denmark to working with nutritional community initiatives in Malawi. Through these endeavors I found that I loved working in the cross section of medicine and public health. The gratitude that someone shows when their lives have been positively changed or when their quality of life has risen to new heights is such a raw emotion! In my free time I love to listen to live music, play cello and piano, meet new people, attempt to cook, try new things, and spend time with friends and family.
 
 
Hey y'all! I moved around a lot when I was little due to my dad's job in the Air Force. I thought when he retired that we'd stop moving, which was partially true. There was another place in Arkansas and then Thailand before my parents decided to settle in Texas. They actually stopped moving, but I apparently felt possessed to keep going. Denton, TX; St. Louis; Amboise, France; Nice, France; London; McAllen, TX; and now San Antonio. I just couldn't resist the charm of the Lone Star State, the stars at night, the sage in bloom...;) There's that old saying: I wasn't born in Texas, but I got here as fast as I could! Amen.

I graduated from Washington University in St. Louis a few years ago with a degree in biology and a minor in French. Who ever thought that a French minor would come in handy? But I finally get to use it (somewhat) with this wonderful project! I'm excited to put my plentiful and awesome (can you see me doing an over-enthusiastic karate chop?) first-year knowledge and skills to use, to better understand the juncture of medicine, public health, and education as well as to acquaint myself with a new culture and language.
 
 
Hi!  My name is Valerie Libby and I am a first year medical student.  I am originally from Atlanta, Georgia.  I have three wonderful brothers.  I went to the University of Texas at Austin and majored in Psychology and Spanish.  I then received a Masters in Global Public Health from George Washington University Health Science Center.  I love traveling and have lived in Argentina, Costa Rica, Spain, and, most recently, Kenya.  In Kenya, I evaluated the impact of community-based health education on the community.  I really love helping people and I am really excited to be a part of this incredible team!  Thank you so much for your interest and support!  
 
 
I am an energetic, passionate, and hopeful person with a love for exploration, irony, and tango dancing.  I always have trouble answering the question of "where are you from" because my family moved around as I was growing up.  Through this I discovered that home really is where the heart is, and at this point in my life I feel like I have multiples homes around the world from sharing experiences with so many fantastic and generous humans.  I believe in the goodness of humans and the power of love simply because I think they are worth believing in.  My overarching goal in life is to be happy, and I have found some of the most rewarding and happiest experiences of my life have been in helping others.  Towards this end, I am pursuing a degree in medicine and public health.  With these degrees, coupled with my love for travel and adventure, I am very excited to see where this path will lead me, because honestly, I have no idea at this point!